Hearing Music for the First Time


I stumbled upon a post on mashable.com about a guy called Austin Chapman (not the Australian politician born in 1864, if you felt any inclination to google him)     who was born deaf, but he got a hearing aid that seems to have worked really well. Anyway, here’s his description of hearing for the first time:

The first thing I heard was my shoe scraping across the carpet; it startled me. I have never heard that before and out of ignorance, I assumed it was too quiet for anyone to hear.

I sat in the doctor’s office frozen as a cacophony of sounds attacked me. The whir of the computer, the hum of the AC, the clacking of the keyboard, and when my best friend walked in I couldn’t believe that he had a slight rasp to his voice. He joked that it was time to cut back on the cigarettes.

That night, a group of close friends jump-started my musical education by playing Mozart, Rolling Stones, Michael Jackson, Sigur Ros, Radiohead, Elvis, and several other popular legends of music.

Being able to hear the music for the first time ever was unreal.

When Mozart’s Lacrimosa came on, I was blown away by the beauty of it. At one point of the song, it sounded like angels singing and I suddenly realized that this was the first time I was able to appreciate music. Tears rolled down my face and I tried to hide it. But when I looked over I saw that there wasn’t a dry eye in the car.

 

Made me kinda happy.

on that note, I’m thinking of learning ASL, i’m not sure why. I’ve just always had a thing for languages (the interesting ones, I really don’t feel like learning latin).

Leave a Reply

